

2025 ASME J. P. Den Hartog Award

The Technical Committee on Vibration and Sound (TCVS) of the ASME Design Engineering Division solicits nominations for the 2025 J. P. Den Hartog Award. This award will be presented at the 2025 ASME Conference on Mechanical Vibration and Noise (VIB), a part of the ASME International Design Engineering Technical Conferences (IDETC).

The <u>J. P. DEN HARTOG AWARD</u>, established in 1987, is presented in recognition of lifetime contributions to the teaching and practice of vibration engineering. The recipient will receive a \$3,000 honorarium, a bronze medal and certificate, and will be invited to deliver the prestigious Den Hartog Keynote Lecture at the VIB Conference.

Nomination packages should follow the guidelines laid out for ASME society awards, which are detailed here:

https://www.asme.org/getmedia/11b2e9eb-3ffd-44c3-9d5e-d109a9767cc7/airtableinstructions.pdf

In particular, all nominations must be submitted via the nomination form:

https://airtable.com/appIUckYpRc0npBGh/shrkISRZhvuamf789

This link is also accessible via the J. P. Den Hartog Award page:

https://www.asme.org/about-asme/honors-awards/achievement-awards/j-p-den-hartog-award

The nomination form requires three letters of reference (in addition to the nomination letter) amongst other information. The nomination letter should include a clear articulation of the nominee's contribution to vibration engineering in a single sentence. Additionally, we request that nomination packages also include the nominee's curriculum vitae. All nomination packages must be submitted electronically by September 30th, 2024.

Previous recipients of the J. P. Den Hartog Award include:

- 1987 J.P. Den Hartog 1993 – R.E.D. Bishop 1999 – L. Meirovitch 2005 – C.D. Mote, Jr. 2011 – C.-S. Hsu 2017 – K.-W. Wang 2023 – S. Shaw
- 1989 W.T. Thomson 1995 – T.K. Caughey 2001 – Y.K. Lin 2007 – D. J. Inman 2013 – P. Hagedorn 2019 – S.S. Rao
- 1991 S.H. Crandall 1997 – A.H. Nayfeh 2003 – V. Modi 2009 – E. H. Dowell 2015 – D.J. Ewins 2021 – B. Balachandran

Submit all inquiries to:

Matthew Brake Email: <u>brake@rice.edu</u> Phone: (713) 348-6142 and TCVS Email: <u>tcvs.asme@gmail.com</u>